Living & Working in Bonnieux

Jon and I have been here in our new hood of Bonnieux for over a week now, but it’s still a bit surreal. What is very tangible though is how relaxed I feel. It’s like my body has exhaled deeply into calmness.

Our apartment is perched on the hillock of the small Provençal village of Bonnieux in the Luberon region. We are just a few minutes walk from the centre ville that is gently scattered with a handful of cosy restaurants, bars, patisserie, boulongerie, butcherie, fleuriste, artisan shops, grocery store and a few boutiques.

 cropped-table.jpg
Mentally everything feels so clear, uncluttered and organised. My days have been characterised by breakfast out on the terrace, followed by client Skype sessions, picking up where I left off four months ago with my business studies, home made lunches with a a sip of vin, long walks exploring the village and surrounding areas (up to 7km! A big achievement for me), an apéritif at our favourite bar, and then dinner at home or at one of the local restaurants.
 cropped-img_9223.jpg
Friday morning is the village market day and Bonnieux is a hive of activity. As I write this post I’m sitting at one of the cafes that looks onto the square where all the market stills are positioned. It feels so good to be here and to be listening to the French language and learning various ways the language is expressed. Music to my ears :-).
cropped-unnamed-922-5.jpg
After a busy season of social and family activities my introverted nature is being fully nourished by not having any plans, not needing to be anywhere, go anywhere, explain how I spend my time to anyone, or do anything other than what feels good to me.
Ahhh, feels good! Dani x
One Comment on “Living & Working in Bonnieux

  1. Dani,
    The village and your house looks lovely. The area seems quite rural.You seem to be enjoying the whole experience. We would like to be over there for a visit, hopefully in the not too distant future.
    Love & Best Wishes,
    Dad.

Your thoughts on this post?

